This article will go through the process of what happens from a managers point of view when an employee declines a shift. In order for an employee to be able to decline a shift, you need to give them access first (see here for details).
Step 1 - Employee declines shift
In the below example, the employee has received a notification of their shifts and has declined them:
Step 2 - Manager is notified
In order for a manager to be notified of a declined shift, they need to have notifications turned on (see here for instructions). Alternatively, they can log into the roster to view any unassigned shifts as when an employee declines a shift, it reverts to being unassigned.
The below example is an email received by a manager (who has notifications turned on) after an employee has declined a shift. A manager will be notified via email when an employee declines a shift. They will not be notified via SMS or Workzone:
Step 3 - Reassigning the shift
The manager will need to log into the payroll system and navigate to the rostering page to reassign the shift (see here for instructions). This has to be done from a browser/laptop. You cannot assign shifts via WorkZone.
Declined shifts in WorkZone
When an employee declines a shift, the status of the shift will change to 'unassigned'. The unassigned shift can then be seen in WorkZone when the manger is logged in:
This differs from an assigned shift, as assigned shifts will list the employee's name:
Remember - it is not possible to reassign the shift from within the mobile app, WorkZone.
Declined shifts in the manger portal
Currently there is no notification from within the portal that an employee has declined a shift. The only indication is that there will be unassigned shifts showing in the roster:
It would be best to use WorkZone to understand which shifts are outstanding and have an internal agreed cut-off time which you can set within the system (see here for instructions). The manager would need to check the app each morning (or their emails) for any declined shifts. And then login to KeyPay to reassign the shift.