A restricted user (or Manager) with access to a group of employees or a location, can perform tasks related to their relevant payroll permissions on the WorkZone app straight from their smartphone.
WorkZone is available on iOS and Android - WorkZone - Getting Started
This article will assist with setting up a restricted user - Manage Users
Full Access Users
A 'full access' user can also perform tasks in WorkZone. They can log into the WorkZone app using the same username and password they would use to log into the web interface.
QBO USERS NOTE: Any full access QBO user will need to set up a separate user with explicit access to WorkZone by going to 'Payroll Settings' -> 'Manage Users' and then adding a new user.
You will notice from the screenshot below the difference between a QBO user and a separate, explicit user. I.e. when you set up a separate user the actual email address is shown:
Navigating the Side Menu
Once the user logs into WorkZone, they can access the side menu by tapping on the hamburger icon that is located on the dashboard screen:
The side menu will have the options to either view personal employee details (if they are an employee) or any businesses they have restricted access to:
If the restricted access user has leave permissions, they will have the ability to undertake the following actions in WorkZone based on their permission type, as follows:
View Leave Requests only: The user will have the ability to view leave requests in read-only format. This includes the ability to view/download any attachments associated with the leave request.
Create Leave Requests only: The user will not have access to any leave related manager features in WorkZone.*
View Leave Requests + Create Leave Requests: The user will have the ability to view leave requests in read-only format. This includes the ability to view/download any attachments associated with the leave request.
View Leave Requests + Approve Leave Requests: The user will have the ability to view, edit, decline, approve and delete a leave request.
View Leave Requests + Create Leave Requests + Approve Leave Requests: The user will have the ability to view, edit, decline, approve and delete a leave request.
*NOTE- A restricted access user will NOT have the ability to create a leave request via the WorkZone app (this is only an option via the web portal).
Leave Requests Screen
Once the user taps on the business name they have restricted access to, they will see the Leave Requests option at the bottom of the screen. This is where they can view any pending leave requests. The displayed information can include:
- employe's name;
- type of leave;
- leave dates;
- attachments icon;
- notes icon;
- the number of hours associated with the request;
- an '!' icon, to indicate the employee has insufficient leave accrued.
How to Action a Leave Request
To approve, edit, decline or delete a leave request, the user will need to tap on the relevant leave request. The information on this extended display will highlight any overlapping leave requests from other employees. Additionally, the user (depending on their permission) will have the ability to edit and save any changes, cancel, decline or approve the leave request:
How to Search for Leave Requests
You can search for historic leave requests and ALL submitted, approved and declined leave requests by tapping on the search icon in the top right corner of the screen:
From here the user will have the ability to filter the 'Search Leave Requests' screen by Leave Status; Leave Period; Leave Category; Employee; and Location:
If you haven’t already, get your restricted access users/Managers to download WorkZone immediately by clicking here:
If you have any questions or feedback, contact us via firstname.lastname@example.org.